Follow Us ON

© 2017 Presents: Legends Corner- Featuring continuous and compelling blogs written by NBA veterans, Legends Corner is the content hub for some of basketball's most legendary players.

Advertise Here Flag

Final Four By the Numbers

No seventh seeded team has ever reached the Final Four before Connecticut defeated Michigan State. No. 7 seeds had been 0-7 in Elite Eight games since the field was expanded to 64 teams in 1985. Only five teams seeded eighth have reached the Final Four since 1985 after Kentucky advanced. Wisconsin and North Caroline reached the Final Four in 2000. Butler reached the title game in 2011 and Villanova won it all in 1985. The last year a FINAL Four featured all teams with state names , Maryland , Indiana , Oklahoma and Kansas was in 2002. Until this year with Florida, Wisconsin, Connecticut and Kentucky advancing. Just food for thought. IT'S MADNESS !!!